Accessibility options :

Content:

18th century : the French Revolution

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity

Révolutionnaire, illustration : Hugo Crampont

In 1789, the people of France started the Révolution which abolished the privileges enjoyed by nobles and aristocrats.

The kingdom became a Republic. The people were no longer the king’s subjects. They wanted to be treated as citizens.

Indeed, the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen founded the basic principles of the Republic and outlined the "Constitution", the big book defining a citizen’s rights and duties.

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity is an ideal in three words and the motto of France. It can be seen engraved on the façade of public buildings or printed on French postage stamps.

The Constitution states that France is a Republic, one indivisible nation, even though its land is divided into "départements" . The “Prefect” represents the State and is responsible for implementing the decisions made in Paris.

After the Revolution, state education had to be secular and thus independent from the church. So gradually, as well as their regional languages, the French had to speak French, the language of the Republic: it was made compulsory in school and in the army.



Napoléon , who became Emperor in 1804, was the country’s great organiser. He modernized the administrative and legal systems and famously created the Civil Code, the Bank of France, the universities, the schools...


The Revolutionary metric system!

Although the decimal metric system is now used almost universally, before the Revolution each region in France had its own system of measurement for everything from the weight of apples to the length of a piece of cloth.

Assiette, Bicenteanire de la Révolution - Photo : G. BrameThe old systems were based on common sense: men used their bodies as a measurement: foot, thumb... (the French for thumb, “pouce”, also means an inch). They also used everyday items such as a basket, but the problem was that all baskets weren’t the same size!

The increase in trade and other exchanges with neighbouring French départements and then with other countries made a common system of measurement essential. So the Republicans adopted a single system of weights and measures which became compulsory in 1840. The French, stuck in their old ways, took over 50 years to get used to the new system.

Today the decimal metric system (length, area, volume, weight...) is used by most countries in the world. Thus, all scientists, from NASA downwards, use the same system of measurement.

Since the United Kingdom joined Europe in 1973, the British inch and foot have had to be converted into centimetres in order for us to participate in the single market. The mile and the pound weight also have to conform to European law.

The baguette : the bread of equality

It’s hard to believe but it’s true: on November 15th 1793 (26 Brumaire Year II on the Revolutionary calendar) the government decreed that everyone in France should eat the same bread.

Fête du pain, Paris, mai 2009 - Photo : G. Brame

It was up to bakers to bake this bread of equality. No longer would white bread be for the rich and bran bread for the poor. In 1856, Louis-Napoleon in turn attempted to regulate the size and weight of bread.


It was after the Second World War that every French baker began to make baguettes. Today, depending on the region, the baguette is called flûte, petite.... It is about 70cm long and weighs around 250g.

 

Footer :

Sitemap | | webdesign by eZoulou

Aide à la navigation :

Contenu de cette page :

18ème siècle : La Révolution française

Liberté, égalité, fraternité

En 1789, le peuple français se révolte : c’est la Révolution qui abolira les privilèges des nobles et des aristocrates.

Révolutionnaire, illustration : Hugo CrampontLa République va remplacer la Royauté. Les gens ne sont plus des sujets du roi mais veulent être considérés comme des citoyens.

De fait, la Déclaration des Droits de l’Homme et du Citoyen fonde les grands principes de la République française et esquisse "la Constitution". Comme un grand livre, la Constitution fixe les droits et les devoirs des citoyens.

Liberté, égalité, fraternité forme la devise de la France. Cet idéal en trois mots est gravé sur le fronton des bâtiments publics ou imprimé sur les timbres-poste.

C’est écrit dans la Constitution, la France est une République, une nation "départements" indivisible même si son territoire est divisé en . Le Préfet est le représentant de l’Etat chargé de faire appliquer les décisions prises à Paris.

Après la Révolution, l’instruction publique sera laïque et donc indépendante de l’église. Peu à peu, en plus de leur langue régionale, les Français devront donc parler le français, la langue de la République : c’est obligatoire à l’école et à la caserne.



C’est Napoléon, Empereur en 1802, qui sera le grand organisateur du pays et modernisera l’administration et la justice. Il crée notamment le Code civil, la Banque de France, les universités, les lycées...


Révolutionnaire, le système métrique

Assiette, bicentenaire de la Révolution, photo : G. BrameSi aujourd’hui le système métrique décimal est universel ou presque, avant la Révolution, chaque région française avait des moyens différents pour peser les pommes ou mesurer le tissu.

L’ancien système s’inspirait du bon sens populaire et l’homme se servait de son corps pour mesurer : pied, pouce... ou de ses outils, comme le panier. Tous n’étaient pas de la même taille et il était difficile de s'entendre sur le prix d'un morceau de tissu ou d'un sac de pomme !

Le développement des échanges et du commerce avec les départements voisins puis les autres pays nécessitait d’avoir les mêmes repères. Après la Révolution, des mathématiciens, des physiciens, des astronomes et des cartographes ont fait des calculs savants avant de trouver une "mesure pour tous les hommes et pour tous les temps" comme aimait à le dire Condorcet. C'est la Terre qui sera la référence idéale pour définir une dimension universelle.

Le 7 avril 1795, le système métrique devient officiel en France, il sera rendu obligatoire pour tous les Français le 1er janvier 1840.

Quelques exceptions à la dizaine : les oeufs, les huîtres ou les escargots sont toujours vendus par douzaine ou demi-douzaine.

Aujourd’hui le système métrique décimal (longueur, surface, volume, poids... ) est appliqué par la plupart des pays de la planète. Ainsi, les scientifiques, la Nasa en tête, utilisent le même mode de calcul.

Depuis l’entrée du Royaume-Uni dans l’Europe en 1973, le pouce et le pied britanniques doivent être convertis en centimètres pour participer au marché unique. Le mile et la livre doivent aussi respecter la réglementation européenne.

Le pain de l’égalité : la baguette

Incroyable mais vrai : le 15 Novembre 1793 (26 Brumaire an II selon le calendrier républicain) un décret stipule que tous les Français doivent manger le même pain.

Fête du pain, Paris, mai 2009 - Photo : G. Brame

Reste aux boulangers à fabriquer le pain de l’égalité : plus question de réserver le pain blanc aux riches et le pain de son pour les pauvres. En 1856, Napoléon à son tour tente de réglementer la taille et le poids du pain.

C’est après la seconde guerre mondiale que tous les boulangers de France fabriqueront des baguettes. Aujourd’hui, selon les régions la baguette est appelée flûte ou petite, elle mesure environ 70 cm et pèse autour de 250 g.

 

Pied de page :

Plan du site | | webdesign by eZoulou